Canada Temperance Act.—Under Parts I and II of this Act, provision is made for the prohibition of the sale of intoxicating liquors in counties and cities. The last vote taken under these parts was in the County of Compton, Quebec, on April 28, 1930, in response to a petition for the repeal of the Act in that county. The vote resulted in favour of the repeal, which became effective on June 14, 1930. Part III of the Act relates to penalties and prosecutions, Part IV to the prohibition of the importation and exportation of intoxicating liquors into and from the provinces, while Part V enacts provisions in aid of provincial legislation for the control of the liquor traffic.

Section 8.--Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

The Royal Canadian Mounted Police is a constabulary maintained by the Dominion Government. It was organized in 1873, and was known as the North West Mounted Police, whose duties were confined to what was then known as the Northwest Territories. In 1904 its name was changed to Royal North West Mounted Police.

In 1905, when Alberta and Saskatchewan were constituted provinces, an arrangement was made whereby the Force continued to discharge its former functions, each province making a contribution towards defraying the cost. This was continued until 1917. Soon after the close of the Great War an extension of governmental activities made it obvious that the enforcement of Dominion Statutes was assuming increasing proportions, and that it would soon be necessary to have a police force responsible therefor. In 1918, the Royal North West Mounted Police were assigned to the duty of the enforcement of Dominion legislation for the whole of Western Canada, west of Port Arthur and Fort William and in 1920 for the whole of Canada.

In 1920, the name of the Force was changed to the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, and the former Dominion Police with headquarters at Ottawa, whose duties were largely connected with guarding public buildings in that city and the Canadian Government dockyards at Halifax, N.S., and Esquimalt, B.C., were absorbed by the Royal Canadian Mounted Police.

At the present time, the R.C.M. Police are responsible throughout Canada for the enforcement of the laws against smuggling by land, sea and air. It enforces the provisions of the Excise Act, is responsible for the suppression of the traffic in narcotic drugs, enforcement of the Migratory Birds Convention Act, and assists the Indian, Immigration, Fisheries and numerous other Dominion Departments in executing the provisions of their respective Acts, and in some cases in administrative duties. It is responsible for the protection of government buildings and dockyards. It is the sole police force operating in the Yukon Territory and the Northwest Territories, and performs a variety of services in all provinces and both Territories for the Dominion Government.

Under the R.C.M. Police Act any province may enter into an agreement with the Dominion Government for the services of the Royal Canadian Mounted Police, to enforce provincial laws and the Criminal Code, upon payment for its services, and at the present time such agreements are in force with the provinces of Prince Edward Island, Nova Scotia, New Brunswick, Manitoba, Saskatchewan and Alberta.

The Force is controlled and administered by a Minister of the Crown (at present the Minister of Justice), and it may be employed anywhere in Canada. From a force of 300 in 1873, it had a strength on Mar. 31, 1935, of 2,573. Its means